Skip to main content
Northwestern University

Distribution Requirements

A liberal arts education exposes students to a wide range of academic disciplines.

You must take two (one-quarter) courses in each of six broad areas of intellectual inquiry.

  1. Natural Sciences (Area I)
  2. Formal Studies (Area II)
  3. Social and Behavioral Sciences (Area III)
  4. Historical Studies (Area IV)
  5. Ethics and Values (Area V)
  6. Literature and Fine Arts (Area VI)

Find courses

Tips and tools

Back to top