Skip to main content
Northwestern University

Academic Honors

2020-2021 Academic Year


Fall Quarter

Two members of the Department of Economics, Matthias Doepke and Alessandro Pavan have been selected as 2020 Fellows of The Econometric Society. The international organization is devoted to the advancement of economics through the use of mathematical and statistical methods. The society counts about 700 of the world's most prominent economists among its elected fellows.

Adilson Motter, the Charles E. and Emma H. Morrison Professor of Physics and Astronomy, has been elected as a Fellow of the Network Science Society.  The society recognizes researchers who have made outstanding and significant contributions to network science research and to the community of network scientists. Adilson was selected for seminal contributions to the study of nonlinear dynamics on networks, including synchronization, cascading failures, synthetic rescues, control, symmetry phenomena, and applications to biological networks, metamaterials, microfluidics, and power grids.

Brian Odom, Associate Professor of Physics and Astronomy, has been elected a Fellow of the American Physical Society for novel optical control and cooing of quantum states of trapped molecular ions that will enable precision measurements with extremely narrow resonance lines. The APS Fellowship Program was created to recognize members who may have made advances in physics through original research and publication, or made significant innovative contributions in the application of physics to science and technology. 



Back to top